[deleted] indicates something that was deleted by the author themself, ie they deleted their own post or comment for whatever reason, eg purges their comment history. The mods can't prevent this, nor reinstate the comment
[removed] indicates something removed by the moderators. The OP and mods can still see it. OP can edit or delete. Mods can reinstate (approve)